• Explore the tastes

  • heritage and recreation

  • of Clarksburg

“Clarksburg is embracing our proud past while also moving into our unlimited future. Whether you are looking for entertainment, shopping, festivals, or some of the greatest locally owned restaurant anywhere, you will find it here in Clarksburg, the Jewel of the Hills! Mayor, Ryan Kennedy

Area Overview

Get to know Clarksburg


Clarksburg was formed in 1785 in the state of Virginia. The city was named for General George Rogers Clark, who gained fame on the frontier by his many explorations and expeditions against the British and Indians in the Indian Wars and the war of the American Revolution.

From the later 1870’s through the middle of the 20th century, Clarksburg was an industrial and manufacturing center, particularly in the glass and coal industries. Today, high tech, aerospace, criminal justice and energy exploration drive the area’s economy.

Clarksburg is a city in and the county seat of Harrison County with a 2010 population census of 16,578 residents. The city offers citizens and visitors a rich mix of retail, industrial, professional and governmental services and one of the best preserved historical downtowns in the state. The city is working diligently to restore and refurbish these historical sites and maintain the rich history of this Mountaineer city.

Visitor Information

Clarksburg is small enough to explore on foot, but big enough to keep you entertained all day and into the night...

Calendar of Events

A city should breathe, a city should celebrate and, on occasion, a city should cry. Amazing Cities are built on the shoulders of those who came before. They are not the province of any individual, but rather a collective mixture of diversity and hope. Jim Hunt

Planning an Event

Get in Touch

Clarksburg Visitors’ Bureau
215 South Third Street, Ste. 101
Clarksburg WV. 26301
(304) 622-2157

For information on Greater Clarksburg and surrounding areas please fill in the form below

Tina Yoke - Executive Director

Board Members:
Joshua Stear – President
Chad Weaver – Vice-President
Paul Jones – Treasurer
Marsha Viglianco – Secretary
Brittany Anderson
Michael Spatafore
Andrew Walker
Cheryl Mehaulic
Shannon Welsh